FW Sunderman, Jr. Diploma of Honor

This award is named in honor of F. William (Bill) Sunderman, Jr., MD, the 42 years long (1969-2011) Secretary-Treasurer of the Association of Clinical Scientists. Bill was also the Editor of the Annals of Clinical and Laboratory Science from 1999-2011, assuming that role upon the passing of his father, F. Wiiliam Sunderman, Sr., MD, PhD. A full biography of Bill Sunderman, Jr. can be found in the Meetings Archive on this website. Select the Highlights of the 131st Meeting in Louisville in 2011.

The Awards Committee, at its discretion, awards the unframed F.W. Sunderman, Jr. Diplomas of Honor to scientists in recognition of sustained, salient, and meritorious contributions to clinical science and its professional advancement. The recipients are usually but not necessarily Fellows of the Association.

The recipients of the FW Sunderman, Jr. Diploma of Honor are listed below.



Joshua A. Bornhorst, PhD

Consultant & Assistant Professor
Dept. of Laboratory Medicine & Pathology
Mayo Clinic, Rochester, MN

2023 Christopher Crutchfield, PhD, HCLD(ABB), DABCC, FACSc
2022 Consolato M. Sergi, MD, PhD
2021 Robert W. Hardy, PhD
2019 M. John Hicks, MD, DDS, PhD
2018 Philip R Foulis, MD, MPH
2017 Myra L. Wilkerson MD
2016 Kilmer S McCully MD
2015 Roland Valdes Jr PhD
2014 Amadeo J Pesce PhD
2013 Vincent A DeBari PhD
2012 Nina Tatevian MD PhD
2011 Charles D. Hawker PhD MBA
2010 M. Kent Froberg MD
2009 Jonathan S Krauss MD
2008 John Lazarchick MD
2007 F William Sunderman Jr MD
2006 Frederick L Kiechle MD PhD
2005 Roger L Bertholf PhD
2004 Robert E Brown MD and Lily L Wu PhD
2003 Juliana G Szakacs MD
2002 James T Wu PhD
2001 Filiberto Cavazos MD
2000 Clive R Hamlin PhD
1998 Sidney M Hopfer PhD
1997 Joseph A Knight MD
1996 George D Vlahides MD
1995 Peter M Farmer MD
1994 Bernard Gondos MD
1993 Andrew E Lorincz MD
1992 Donald J Cannon PhD
1991 Helen M Free DSc and Frederick Muschenheim MD
1990 Ludolph H van der Hoeven MD PhD
1989 Richard H Gadsden Sr PhD
1988 Edward E Morse MD
1987 Robert L Hunter Jr MD PhD and Armand B Glassman MD
1986 Marge A Brewster PhD and Jasper G Chen See MD
1985 Israel Diamond MD and Ernest M Walker Jr MD PhD
1984 Paul C Fu PhD
1983 Harry F Weisberg MD
1982 Arnold O Beckman PhD
1981 Arthur L Levy PhD
1980 Edward E Bermes Jr PhD
1979 Henry A Teloh MD
1978 Albert Cannon MD
1977 Donald T Forman PhD
1976 Elgin P Kintner MD
1975 Irene E Roeckel MD
1974 Mel A Davis MD
1973 Alfred H Free PhD
1972 Kurt M Dubowski PhD
1971 Leon N Sussman MD
1970 Oscar G Costa Mandry MD
1969 Samuel A Levinson MD
1968 Dorothea M Gilmore MD
1967 Joseph B Hartney MD
1966 Evelyn B Man PhD
1966 Evelyn B Man PhD
1965 Oscar Kanner MD
1964 Philip H Geisler MD
1963 Dora A Newson MD
1962 Harrison H Leffler MD
1961 Vernon E Martens MD
1960 Hans N Naumann MD
1959 Robert P MacFate PhD
1958 F William Sunderman MD PhD
1957 Claude P Brown MD