Updated: February 15, 2017

Designated Countries List



This list of "Designated Countries" is a compilation of countries with which the United States:

- I) Has no diplomatic relations.
- II) Countries determined by Department of State to be "State Sponsors of Terrorism" or identified by the Department of Commerce as "Terrorist Supporting Countries,".
- III) Countries under Sanction or Embargo by the United States.
- IV) Countries of Missile Technology Concern.

All Foreign National visitors require Center Export Administrator review and approval; in addition, Foreign National visitors to NASA born in or citizens of these countries require review and approval by an Agency International Desk Officer and the Headquarters Export Administrator. All NASA mail to these countries requires the concurrence of a NASA Center Export Administrator, in accordance with NPR 1450.10D, NASA Correspondence Management and Communications Standards and Style, Appendix E. Foreign National Visitors who are currently citizens of, or born in, Countries Designated by an "X" in Column II will be denied, except in very particular circumstances.

DESIGNATED STATUS *

CODE	DESCRIPTION		II	III	IV
AF	Afghanistan			Χ	
ВН	Bahrain				Χ
BY	Belarus			X	
ВТ	Bhutan	X			
MM	Burma (Now Myanmar)			Χ	
CT	Central African Republic			X	
CN	China, Peoples Republic			Χ	Χ
CG	Congo (Formerly Zaire)			X	
CU	Cuba			Χ	
CY	Cyprus			Χ	
EG	Egypt				Χ
ER	Eritrea			Χ	
HT	Haiti			X	
HK	Hong Kong*(One China Policy)			Χ	
IR	Iran	X	X	X	X
IQ	Iraq			X	Χ
IL	Israel				Χ
JO	Jordan				X
KP	Korea, North	X	X	Χ	Χ
KW	Kuwait				Χ
LB	Lebanon			X	X
LY	Libya			Χ	Χ
MO	Macau (China)			X	Χ
OM	Oman				Χ
PK	Pakistan				Χ
QA	Qatar				X

Updated: February 15, 2017

	· · ·				
SA	Saudi Arabia				X
SO	Somalia			Χ	
SU	Sudan		X	Χ	
SY	Syria		X	Χ	X
TW	Taiwan	X			
AE	United Arab Emirates				X
VE	Venezuela			Χ	
YE	Yemen				X
ZM	Zimbabwe			Χ	

Reference: 22 CFR §126.1, as amended through 81 FR 66804 (current as of September 29, 2016); 15 CFR 746 (Current as of February 15, 2017) and 15 CFR 740 Appendix D: 4 (Current as of October 12, 2016).

Key to Designated Status

- I. Countries with which the United States has no Diplomatic Relations (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html)
- II. Countries determined by the Department of State to support Terrorism (22CFR§ 126.1 (C2) and (15 CFR Supplement 1 to Part 740, Country Group E, Column E:1), of the Export Administration Regulations, administered by the Bureau of Industry and Security, Department of Commerce,
- III. Countries under Sanction or Embargo by the United States (22 CFR §126.1 (d.1), (d.2), (f), (g), (h), (i), (j), (k), (l), (m), (r), (s), (t), (u) and (v) (http://pmddtc.state.gov/embargoed_countries/index.html; DDTC website Country Policies and Embargoes); 15 CFR Part 746
- IV. Countries of Missile Technology Concern (<u>15 CFR Supplement 1 to Part 740, Country Group D, Column D:4</u>, of the Export Administration Regulations, administered by the Bureau of Industry and Security, Department of Commerce)